Nowadays, some universities offer graduate students skills that assist to find
employment, but some people believe the main function of a university should be to
access knowledge for its sake. What’s your opinion?
As university education is the last stage before the starting of career, many people believe
that it prepares students for employment only, but the fact is that it serves a lot many
purposes. In this essay I shall discuss the various functions of a university.
Universities provide specialised education in fields such as medical, engineering, commerce
etc. They provide library facilities, which support the curriculum. They provide laboratory
facilities for science and technology related subjects. They send students to factories and
industries so that they get practical experience. This job-oriented training helps them to
understand the working conditions and also gives them an idea about competition in the
market. They also create job opportunities for the students by arranging campus interviews.
On the other hand, universities also perform other functions which help the students in
their personal life. They organise co-curricular activities such as cultural programmes,
sports, debates, fairs etc. They gain many qualities such as self-confidence and positive
attitude, which help them in their future life. Moreover, some people just go to university
for gaining knowledge just out of interest for the subject. For example, a doctor may want
to learn French language just for interest in the language.
Furthermore, a university is a place to know more about the world because there are
students from across the globe in a university. For many, who may never travel abroad, this
may be a chance of a lifetime for them to broaden their horizons and know more about the
different cultures of the world. For example, in LPU( Lovely Professional University), there
are 200 students from Malaysia, Korea and other parts of the world.
To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, universities do not simply prepare a person
for employment, but also have many other functions.