Some people think that the range of technology available to people is increasing the gap

between the rich and the poor. Others think it has an opposite effect. Discuss both views and give

opinions.

It is true that technology plays an important role in our life. While many people argue that technology development expands the gap between the rich and the poor, I believe that technology makes a contribution to bring equality to every member of society.

On the one hand, the technology could increase the gap between the wealth and the poverty. Firstly, poor people cannot afford to acquire the latest technology products which could be beneficial for them to improve their financial condition. For example, some developing country invent modern rice harvesters which can help farmer harvest more convenience and effectively due to the amount of time and labor saved; but, poor people do not have enough money to own them. Secondly, some modern methods are applied in term of healthcare which could help people treat fatal disease; however, the cost of treatment is increasingly high which is only affordable for the wealthy. So, poor people have to live together with their disease because of poverty.

On the other hand, technology advancement could make a difference for poor people. The internet is spreading to all parts of the world; this provides a lot of useful information for people from the different economic background. For instance, students who live in a poverty area are likely to gain knowledge from the best educational institution. So, they have the best updated knowledge as much as their counterpart in any nation. In addition, people can buy some technology devices with the lower cost and the function as same as costly devices of reputed brand. Those products help poor people have the opportunity to learn and apply useful knowledge on the internet in their life, which could not be done in the past.

In conclusion, although the range of technology available could increase the gap between poor people and rich people, it seems to me that technological progress can help the poor and the richk become more equality .