Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recent decades have witnessed the tremendous improvement in monitoring technology such as global positioning system (GPS) or security cameras. While it can not be denied that this advancement has contributed several positive impacts to society, I would argue that this is bringing more harm than good at the moment.

To begin with, there is no doubt that technology offers authority a great vehicle to enhance their citizen’s security and welfare. For example, they can prevent malicious cybercrime, like identity thieves and blackmail. With the right purpose, technology enables the government to protect the financial and intellectual properties, which are often vulnerable to be attacked unknowingly. Additionally, unlawful activities are easily exposed to justice by the advanced features of cameras and microphones. They have played a significant role in supporting police to investigate some “seem to be” unsolvable criminal cases.

Monitoriztion with technology, on the other hand, has created countless predicaments for people. Some technology companies have taken user identities and sold them for commercial and political purposes. Even though regulations have been approved to restrain this problem, but technology garments and secret applications are still too sophisticated for a user to understand how to avoid its risk. For instance, many companies may take advantage of the Internet’s loopholes to trick people by their business email compromise with uncommon and subtle hyperlinks. Indeed, the majority are often unaware of and uneducated to tackle this issue.

In my perspective, the world has become a “slightly less lovely” place regarding the adverse feature of monitored technology. Whereas technology will continue to offer people numerous convenience and comfort, nonetheless, I fear its consequential impact is likely to outweigh the benefits.