Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening.

In today’s world, the proliferation of technology has made it possible for the government to keep the public under constant surveillance. While some people advocate for the use of camera surveillance, others believe that this can pose certain dangers. From my point of view, I believe that this trend can do more good than harm.

Admittedly, installing the cameras to record the movements of the citizens can cause certain problems. It is obvious that this can be an invasion of the privacy of ordinary citizens. To a greater or lesser extent, people may feel that they have to surrender their rights of privacy with the 24/24 monitoring of the technology. As a result, the cameras will gradually strip law-abiding citizens’ freedom. Moreover, the camera surveillance is not only an infringement of citizens’ rights but it also fuels the fear of crimes in the public. For example, if people notice too many cameras in the neighbourhood, they may think their area is not safe and get the fear from nothing. Some bad people can even tap a line or log the phone of the people illegally. Obviously, technology in this case leads to more problems.

However, there are a myriad of reasons why I support the idea of having camera surveillance. The first thing to notice is that it can assist with evidence gathering. For example, when there is a burglary case, the police can trace the whereabouts of the suspects by watching the tapes from the cameras and then make an arrest. And only when there are images, videos, etc from the cameras will the offenders be prosecuted in the court. Another thing is that the camera surveillance can also act as a deterrent of the would-be criminals. Being aware of their anti-social activities being captured on CCTVs, they will not act out their behaviours. Thus, petty crimes including littering, vandalism, etc can be curtailed and people will be held more accountable for their actions.

In conclusion, while the use of camera surveillance can, to some extent, cause several disadvantages, I believe it will offer a myriad of benefits including assisting the law enforcement officials with evidence gathering and deterring crimes.