The environmental problems that today's world is facing are so great that there is little ordinary people can do to improve the situation. So governments and large organizations should be responsible for reducing the amount of damage being done to the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today world’s of industrialization and globalization, protecting the environment is certainly a heated issue around the world. Some people argue that government and large organizations are more responsible for reducing negative effects being caused to the environment than individuals. From my point of view, I completely disagree with the opinion above since I believe every single person can join hand and better the situation gradually.

On the one hand, I concur that the environment is mostly affected by the government’s policies and giant corporations’ activities and there are some ways that they can provide positive impacts on the environment. Firstly, the government should implement policies and regulations that prevent companies from polluting the air, water, … or reduce the carbon footprint from their daily work. For example, in some European cities, no personal vehicles are allowed and public transport is encouraged by authorities. Secondly, giant companies can improve the situation by finding eco-friendly methods of waste treatment instead of burning or burying.

On the other hand, I am more convinced that little ordinary people can change the situation enormously just by doing simple things. Firstly, people should try to sort the rubbish out and recycle as much as they can before taking it out. Secondly, renewable energy should be made the most use of in citizen’s daily life. For example in some developed country, using electric vehicles or solar energy are some of the ways that are chosen by people to reduce greenhouse gases and they are also encouraged to use biodegradable materials instead of plastic-related materials.

In conclusion, while I believe that a tremendous impact on the environment can be provided by government and corporations, the key role of individuals in improving the situation is undeniable.