Nowadays, the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the type of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

One of the highly debatable issues, today, is whether human interaction has been altered due to technological advances is positive or negative. This essay will shed some lights on how these innovations have transformed the connectivity among people and demonstrate why this progress is, by and large, detrimental.

With respect to the first question, people’s cycle of friends has been affected in a number of different ways. The proliferation of social network has enabled users to widen their friendship, just by sending innumerable friend requests and waiting for acceptance. That is the primary reason why one can have up to 5,000 friends on the Internet, in comparison with a moderate number in the past. In terms of communication, the explosion of Internet-based conversations, such as emails or video calls, is mainly responsible for the shortage of face-to-face interaction. In fact, people are taking advantage of online platforms, most of which are totally free and handy, in lieu of engaging in lengthy and costly commutes to organize real-life meetings.

However, I am inclined to the view that certain detriments are associated with changes in the way of interaction. First and foremost, the over-reliance on virtual communication leads to a decline in social skills which are crucial for personal growth. It is not uncommon for a heavy-social-network user to feel awkward when trying to strike up a conversation with strangers or making small talks in front of the crowd. Another threat would be a great sense of solitude when being surrounded by thousands of virtual friends but hardly finding anyone to confide in. In other words, the direct interaction, in which people are easily conspicuous of other’s interests and hobbies, plays an indispensable part in creating and maintaining a true relationship.

By way of conclusion, technology has revolutionized how we relate to each other. And I firmly believe that its drawbacks outweigh much more than the fruits of these new relationships.