Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Controversy has been sparked whether tertiary education guarantees a prosperous career or getting employed instantaneously after graduating is more superior. While both arguments are valid to a certain, they both consist of drawbacks along with their benefits.

To begin with, it is believed that when people attend university or any form of tertiary education for a period of time before starting their career, they could end up having a successful career. However, that is not the case for some billionaires such as Bill Gates or Mark Zuckerberg, two richest guys who did not obtain a bachelor’s degree but still manage to build their own empire: Microsoft and Facebook. Getting a job right after school does not equal to failing, since university education is not the only factor that contributes to one’s prosperity. It requires many other elements such as intelligence, public relations, luck, industriousness and so on.

Conversely, people with formal qualifications have more employment opportunities and their potential of getting promoted is higher. Although studying at university or college does not guarantee success, it is considered the most uncomplicated path to a prosperous career. Furthermore, university’s environment supplies students with a massive amount of knowledge, a wider friend circle and an improvement in students’ practical skills. Such skills as interpersonal or teamworking skills can be extremely useful to those who obtain them. Generally speaking, tertiary education is not compulsory, however students should be encouraged to study higher academically to broaden their horizons.

In conclusion, although university education does not promise a prosperous career, students who obtain formal qualifications are certainly more prominent to become successful. Moreover, getting a job immediately after graduation can also bring prosperity to those who give it their best shot.