Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology.

In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships that people make?

Has this been a positive or negative development?

It is no doubt that technology has made an unprecedented change in the way people communicate. There are many impacts technology has on human relationships; however, I believe this development will be a negative one for society.

Recent technological developments in communication have affected people’s relationships in diverse ways. Firstly, people no longer need to meet each other as they can interact with others from anywhere in a matter of clicks. This technological achievement proves extremely convenient in particular situations at work or school that require quickness and efficiency. Secondly, technology is an invaluable tool for making new friends. For example, people can make new contacts more easily by using social networks, such as Facebook and Twitter, to find others who share the same interests, and they interact through their smart devices rather than in person.

However, it seems to me that this development is negative for people's social lives. Firstly, most of these online relationships are short-lasting because personal communication is an important factor in every friendship. Online friends do not have shared experiences or help each other in their bad times; as a result, their friendship will not last long. Secondly, the availability of new communication technologies both isolates people and discourages real interaction. People tend to focus too much on social networking relationships, especially teenagers. As a consequence, this indiscriminate act will gradually destroy real-life friendships and make people isolated.

In conclusion, technology has certainly revolutionized communication between people. This essay discussed a few ways in which technology could benefit interaction; nevertheless, not all the outcomes of this development are positive.