Nowadays, young people admire sports stars although they often do not set a good example. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that the youth admire outstanding athletics. Personally, I believe that admiration sports stars has both positive and negative consequences, as will now be discussed.

Admittedly, there are several advantages of being inspired by celebrities. Firstly, outstanding athletics often display extremely developed skills, which can help to spur young people towards a life full of physically active. In other words, adolescents attempt to imitate their idols, so they bury themselves in exercise which leads to a healthy lifestyle. For example, school children are often driven to exercise to desire to emulate sports stars such as Nadal, Messi or Ronaldo. Secondly, teenagers can also take valuable lessons from their idols’ mistakes. After Sharapova used doping, she had not abandon the game and come back with highly attempt in playing tennis.

Despite the positive impacts of admiring athletics, I believe that drawbacks are more significant. To begin with, since most adolescents are malleable, bad examples from sportsmen can develop moral issues in them. Many young people who look up to well-known figures such as Mike Tyson believe that they should pursue a glamorous, material life with parties and nightclubs. Furthermore, a good image of this occurred when Canadian runner Ben Johnson dishonorably lost an Olympic gold medal due to doping use. However, young people will be obsess with cheating can help them to reach high achievements.

In conclusion, I firmly hold the view that admiring outstanding athletics has more disadvantages than advantages.