New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

It is true that children in today’s world spend more time playing with technological devices in leisure time. While this has several benefits, I believe that overall the negative consequences are more significant.

Admittedly, there are several advantages of playing with technological gadgets. The most obvious one is that technology has provided an attractive way for children to relax. Today, children are often under tremendous academic pressure to do well at school and to succeed in life. Some of them have to take part in extra classes as a result of this, and they are often drained of energy after a tiring day at school. Many children, therefore, find technological devices entertaining to temporarily escape the tedium of homework and assignments. Another benefit of playing with technological equipment is that it keeps children safer. The development of society is usually associated with potential dangers that lurk around when children play outdoors. Abduction, for example, is now a real threat in some emerging countries, and this explains why many parents are willing to allow children to play with mobile phones in their free time.

There are more disadvantages, however, of children spending time with technological devices. While some people correctly argue that children can hone computer skills by playing with new technologies, they are actually more vulnerable to serious health problems. The sedentary lifestyle that accompanies game addiction can lead to increased risks of obesity, heart attack and diabetes. Frequent exposure to the screen can also cause blurred vision and myopia, and the lingering images of games may prevent children from focusing on their study in the class. Apart from all of these, more time spent indoors means less time spent with the family and peers, making children socially isolated and lacking in communication skills.

In conclusion, although children may derive several benefits from playing with technological devices, I firmly believe that these advantages are outweighed by the above-mentioned drawbacks.