As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that car users should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about whether the governments should pay for the expense of delivering more road systems due to the increasing number of cars these days or this responsibility belongs to car owners. In my perspective, I strongly believe it is the governments’ duty to spend budget on supplying the transport infrastructures to the people.

On the one hand, only the governments have the authority and resource to establish the road systems in large scale. Big contracts with constructing companies have to be signed before any projects begin. Such contracts always demands a huge amount of money which is out of reach for any private corporations, organizations or individuals. Therefore, only the governments are capable of handling this enormous task.

On the other hand, every car user has paid for the expense of transportation systems. When they first buy a vehicle, owners have to pay the taxes before taking the cars on the road. This money is then returned to the governments’ fund as contribution of buying cars and using public transport systems. Furthermore, every country demands constant fees from vehicles’ owners to maintain and expand transport infrastructure every year. Thus, there is no reason for the people who own a car to pay for road constructing projects any further.

In conclusion, it is the governments’ jobs to spend money on roads systems because the people have already paid with the taxes and they also do not have the authority and resource.