The number of children that read books for fun has dropped dramatically in recent years. What are the reasons for this? How can we encourage children to read more?

In the last few years, the number of younger generation who read books for pleasure has declined substantially. This essay will outline the reasons behind the recent phenomenon as well as the way to resolve it.

First of all, one of the reasons is that the widespread use of smartphone at a young age has mostly replaced traditional reading. This can inflict youngsters experiencing technology addiction, Frontiers in Psychology, in the long run negatively affecting adolescent academic performance in modern society. Students may get distraction and lose concentration for completing school works. Moreover, kids lower literacy can be caused by the lack of parents support to upbringing children’s reading habits. Considering that, the hectic working day may cause a low presence of parents in child’s golden age contribute to an incompetence their self-growth. If every parent implement home reading practise from younger, the reading culture will be the same as in Japan.

Regarding aforementioned factors, the remarkable solution can be implemented through guiding child to find their convenient hobbies along with exposing to literature. Apparently, Western society has succeeded in promoting reading interest by narrating stories before sleeping. This can help children to recall what they are used to and what they do because they can learn by copying their environment at this age. Moreover, providing fascinating books through innovative learning media is shown capable to arouse a sense of curiosity. Together with enacting government literacy program, the usage of interactive tools in Japan can increase students' excitement for studying, resulting in a more enjoyable learning experience.

To sum up, several reasonable factors lie behind a phenomenon of children’s reading habits including unsupportive children’s closest environment and advance technology addiction. However, children fun reading may be encouraged towards leading to their interest and using modern playing books.