In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transportDisucss both the

Transportation is one of the most significant components of country's infrastructure, demanding government control and large investment of capital. People, in some countries, believe that rail communication is essential for fast and extensive transportation between cities. Another school of thought opine that budget should be distributed on renovating existing public transport.

To begin with, construction of railway lines can bring many benefits. Fast, safe rail trains are able to carry a great number of passengers, luggage and commodities at a time for large distances. Unlike other modes of transport trains are protected from the exposure to sun, rain, snow and ice, which makes traffic dependable and convenient. Moreover, the railways provide greater employment for both, unskilled and skilled labors. Another reasonable advantage is low chances of accidents and breakdowns as compared to other types of transportation. Due to these advantages, people often propose that a large amount of money should be allocated for constructing railway facilities. For instance, in large countries, such as China and India, more than 1000 billion passenger-kilometers travels across the country.

On the other hand, public transport plays a significant role in interconnecting different parts of city and the highest proportion of people use solely this system to travel to different places. Furthermore, it is affordable and easily accessible transportation facility as compared to taxi or cab. Though trains can improve the city transport infrastructure, it is not an alternative to the existing road transports. That is why many people claim that state budget should be utilised on improving the public transport for the sake of the better communication for mass people. For instance, train line in China has always contributed to a great extent to the overall transport system in the country. Nevertheless, Chinese metro system is cheap and regular that connects most corners of city and remains the main commuting mode for the citizens and tourists.

To conclude, I personally believe that, the national budget should be fairly distributed both for the improvement of the rail and public transports for the overall expansion and improvement of the transportation system.