In a number of countries, some people thinks it’s necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In nowadays advancing times, numerous people in several different countries believe that money should be invested in the construction of fast train railways to allow rapid transport from city to city. However, others may say that this money would be better invested in improving public transport, which is already available. In my opinion, the maintenance of existing transport would be a better idea and overall more profitable for both the government and the general public.

The construction of fast trains would make travelling between cities very easy. For example, bullet trains in Japan have allowed its population to travel very easily from city to city, thus allowing people to conserve their precious time and energy. This has specially been very beneficial for businesses and tourists, as businessmen can attend multiple meetings during the day in several different locations and tourists can easily travel to and fro from various destinations and not be limited to one city. This ease of travel allowed by the bullet trains has lead to a fruitful economic boom for Japan and its economy.

Although I acknowledge the above advantages, the majority of people in many cities usually benefit more considerably from existing transport as they travel more frequently within the city, with the exception of businessmen and tourists. These people rely on trams, subways, buses etc. to commute to work, school and several other places within their city. Thus, investing money into these modes of transport and bringing about simple yet effective changes would vastly benefit millions of people. For instance, an addition of new bus routes would allow easier travel for people going to work or even reducing fare rates would be hugely beneficial for members of the public belonging to lower socioeconomic backgrounds.

In conclusion, many people believe that the construction of high-speed trains should be prioritized and that’s where the funds should be invested. On the other hand, some say these funds would be better spent on upgrading existing public transport. I believe, that the money should be spent on improvements which can benefit a larger group of people, thus it would be wiser to improve public transport, as travel between cities may become redundant in the future for businesses as many may choose to work from online platforms.