In a number of countries, spme people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing nw railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, there is controversy what the government should invest in either fast trains or other public transportation. Some people assume that the government should construct high speed railways for saving time. However, others argue that the government should invest to improve public transports which are use by many people. In this essay, I will discuss both these views and present my opinion.

On the one hand, people who want to save time wish to develop high speed trains. First, many people think that time is very important like the gold, because no one can buy time with money. As a result, passengers who use high-speed trains are increasing. However, there are not enough fast railways systems which are satified with customers' need. For example, according to Korean article, many korean people want to use high-speed trains known as Korea train express (KTX) for saving time. However, high-speed railway lines are not enough to go to all parts of the country. Consequently, they replace to get on a plane. Therefore, they need to build new high-speed railway lines for economy of time.

On the other hand, others argue that they want to develop existing public transport while they do not need high-speed trains. There are several reasons why they do not like to invest fast railway systems. First, high-speed trains charge for passengers big fares. For example, KTX charges a big fare as compared with other public transportation. As a result, many people take other ways to earn time. Next, present public transportation needs less investment to develop than making new high-speed railway systems. In order to build new high-speed railway lines, they need many things such as money, time, workers and space. However, developing existing public transportaion needs a small effort. For instance, in Korea, every bus was packed during the rush hours. However, the government increased public buses to solve this problem instead of building high-speed trains. As a result the problem was fixed while cost was cheaper than building new trains. Therefore, improving existing public transportation is more easier and cheaper than building new high-speed railway systems.

To sum up, as I mentioned above, although we live in a world where time is valuable like gold, improving existing public transportations is likely to have benefits. Therefore, governments should consider for people's need to spend money whether existing public transportation or high-speed trains.