A number of tertiary courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work at an institution or organisation as part of their programme. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this type of course requirement

Recently, with regard to the tertiary education, many courses obligate students to participate in an internship term including voluntary works and practising in institution and organisation as a credit of their programme. Aiming in this essay, I will address some prominent benefits as well as determining drawbacks.

As a whole, probation term is the almost essential course for students who want to build endurance up in the workplace and polish up their skills and working styles. Consequently, The first vitally important advantage is the improvement of skills and abilities. Also noteworthy is the fact that, for example, when practising in volunteer work of their programme, students will eventually develop their social skills including soft skills and practical skills, such as interpersonal and flexibility ability. Additionally, the more time they spend on the participation of internship, the more confident and reflexible they get. Little wonder, students will also enhance their sources of practical perception and eager to figure out some mistakes that they had made.

Further and more importantly, The second principal development for students attending an internship term in university and company is the application of academic theory in a practical period. Hence, while working in the environment related to their fields, colleges will able to be more acknowledgeable and comprehensible in such complex theories of their majors. For instances, if students join in an internship psychology course, they will broaden their horizons and understand the theory in reality by collaborating with professors and patients in hospitals. Further, Probation not only opens more opportunities to students for their skill enhancements but also supports students to apprehend the deep penetration of knowledge of their learning.

In stark contrast, however, opponents believe that this situation could bring negative results such as the degradation of student's grade and distraction on academic field. Firstly, Having spent too much time on voluntary work, the decline of student's overall grade appears to be seen as the main drawbacks. Secondly, students who are very passionate about those works sometimes feel hard to concentrate on their tertiary education. As a result, there are more students who drop out of school for those reasons.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm again my position that this situation brings more advantages than disadvantages.