Obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries. Explain the main causes and effects of this problem, and suggest some possible solutions.

Nowadays, in modern times, obesity is a major global epidemic. It has made negative impacts on both children and adults. In this essay, the writer will elaborate on reasons causing this problem and solutions.

The first cause is that many people do not lead a healthy and balanced diet. A number of people, especially children and teenagers, tend to prefer fast food such as hamburgers, chips and soft drinks. They are not aware that fast food has very high fat, sugar and calories intake. For example, a hamburger contains 249,9 calories, which is a great amount. Another element is the increasing number of people drinking alcohol. If this becomes a habit, it will not only causes obesity but also leads to a lot of other dangerous diseases: diabetes, cancer, … The solution is that the government should increase sales tax on any food that is considered to be unhealthy. Additionally, the authorities also have to decrease the number of fast food shops. Moreover, people ought to make a habit of eating green foods such as vegetables or fresh fruits. These foods will provide vitamins and energy for our bodies. A balanced diet will help everyone have a healthy and happy life.

The second reason is human’s physical inactivity. There are now many modern facilities, which make people lazier and more dependent. In the past, people went to work by bikes or they could walk. However, nowadays, we usually go to work by car or motorbike. Children also have less physical activities and play sports not regularly. They often spend most free time sitting in front of the TV or playing computer games, which stores up calories. Therefore, in order to tackle this problem, human need to be encouraged to do more outdoor activities such as playing sports. This solution can both boost our health and make us more energetic. Furthermore, the government had better to lay down policies to increase the price of oil, petrol and electricity. Schools also increase time for physical exercises in curriculum, which can help children have more chance to do physical activities.

To sum up, obesity is the major and widespread issue in the world. Each of us should make a habit of following a balanced diet and doing more physical activities. The solutions must be done by both the government and individuals.