The older people who need employment have to compete with younger ones What problems can this create What are some solutions

These days, an intense rivalry between the elderly and the younger counterparts for jobs has aroused people’s discussion. It is said that aged people tend to face with jobless and strain because of young rivals’ competition. This essay will examine these impacts as well as necessary steps that should be taken to curb the problems.

There are two primary issues that the older generation has to deal with when competing with the young in the workplace. First and foremost (C1), as a result of age discrimination, older people often suffer more disadvantages when seeking the same positions as young candidates, even when they have similar abilities and qualifications. Consequently, a number of them become out of jobs, which may prevent them from meeting basic human needs. Secondly, elderly employees might undergo enormous strains, stemming from the fact that their young colleagues seem to be more creative and adapt themselves to changes at the workplace more effectively than they could do. This may lead to both physical and psychological problems, including heart disease and depression.

Since such issues are too complicated, both the government and individuals should take steps immediately to address these problems. The first essential step is that the administration should encourage enterprises to apply the Anti-age Discrimination Law in order to protect employees aged 40 years old or more from employment discrimination based on age. Therefore, they would be given better opportunities to find suitable jobs and acquire a livelihood. From an individual perspective, older workers should be willing to update their skills through attending training courses. If younger colleagues also help them to adapt to changes in the working environment, older workers will gain confidence and improve their work performance.

In conclusion, there can be no doubt that there are some intricate problems as a consequence of an increasing rivalry between the old and the young in the job market, and some holistic approaches should be adopted to curb these problems. This thorny issue can be resolved thoroughly only when concerted endeavors are made immediately by the government and individuals.