ome people believe that teenagers should study all school subjects. Others argue that they should focus on only the subjects that they are good at or find most interesting. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

As our society puts more emphasis on education, it has become a controversial matter whether youngsters ought to put their efforts into the whole school subjects or it would be more advisable for them to concentrate on their most favourable topic. This essay will look at both the beliefs and arrive at a logical conclusion.

On one hand, studying a variety of subjects is believed by many experts to bring students numerous advantages such as broad choices and diverse knowledge. Firstly, pupils from around the age of 13 to 17 may not be mature and experienced enough to make a serious and well-informed decision of their major. Therefore, learning a broad range of different subjects enables teenagers to develop a clearer understanding of their interests which will support their future endeavours. Secondly, juveniles need to vary what they learn in order to be thoroughly developed and well-rounded adults. For instance, they need to take part in physical education lessons so that they can have better health and stamina or they need maths to be able to perform simple calculations in life. In general, giving attention to varieties of subjects will open numerous development opportunities for children.

On the other hand, there are a considerable number of educators who believe that it is beneficial for the adolescents to devote time to the subjects of their liking. Due to certain merits, this belief is warrantable. To begin, pupils should define what subjects are most useful for them as most universities require students to choose their own major. This is also a stage when an 18-year-old individual has enough ability to concentrate on one specific subject and study it in depth. Hence, they can gain expertise in their field and become an expert which then will strengthen their competitiveness and readiness for their future profession. Furthermore, by learning their chosen topics, their stress level will be eliminated because of less burden of extra subjects.

To sum up, I wholeheartedly believe that the number of their subjects should depend on their age. While younger teenagers are not ready to specialise and need to broaden more experience by learning as many subjects as possible, it is better for 18-year-old individuals to pave their own path by focusing on what they like in order to pursue their ideal career.