One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer, and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The ameliorating advancement of medication has resulted in a longer lifespan. From my perspective, the advantages of this trend outstrip the disadvantages.

To commence with, increasing life expectancy put considerable pressure on the young generation as well as resources. The most obvious evidence is that the more elderly people the societies have, the more doctors and nursing staff the societies need. On top of that, more public infrastructure must be built, especially hospitals and nursing homes going along with accommodation for the elderly. Additionally, due to longer life expectancy, governments and some insurance companies will have to spend a large amount of money on pension and insurance for old people for a long time. This costs a significant amount of money, which could be allocated to various pressing issues.

On the other hand, longer life expectancy could contribute to a fulfilled life for individuals as well as a well-educated and prosperous society. In terms of individual benefits, after retirement, more spare time actuates people to achieve their life objectives which could not be obtained during their career because of time and money constraints. For example, old people, in all likelihood, enjoy taking a variety of trips to switch off since they no longer undertake any responsibilities at work or related to family commitments. Furthermore, since lifespan lasts longer, workers, obviously, contribute more to the economy and facilitate them with most comforts before retirement, which leads to a more affluent life. What’s more, the old generation could set a good example for their grandchild due to their spectrum of knowledge compiled throughout their life.

In conclusion, although longer life expectancy is not without disadvantages, I think that the upsides will justify these.