One problem faced by many cities is traffic congestion. What are the causes? What solutions do you suggest?

We live in an age when the fastest-growing city is experiencing many problems. One of this is traffic jams which are a grave concern that lead to a loss of productivity and unnecessary delays for citizens. The given essay will shed of light on the root causes of congestion and offer the ways of resolving it.

First and foremost, the transport infrastructure in most cities was not engineered for the modern traffic densities. It is true that there is observed a sharp growth of people, particularly in the metropolises, who often acquire the private vehicles, therefore a forecast for future size of roads become a complex process. Moreover, the city traffic is caused by drivers looking for parking since these places are not provided. Another less obvious but not least important reason Coupled with ill-organized infrastructure which is able to increase the number of hazardous situations on the roads come from an erratic driver behavior. Being distracted drivers by their smartphones or other devices is another illustration of speed fluctuation and ignoration of road sings, thus increasing traffic density.

it is important that action is taken to combat this tendency. One solution is improving of existing road system, such as a creating one-way streets, putting up traffic lights and building of the additional roundabouts. Moreover, variable speed limits should be introduced by transport engineers which are an effective way to regulate traffic dynamically. To handle this situation, the government should encourage people to use alternative type transport instead of private cars, such as bicycles, underground or buses. For instance, increasing the bike lines, reducing the cost of public transport.

In conclusion, traffic congestion is a major concern for any city due to ill-organized transport infrastructure and driver’s behavior which can be tackle with the right action by governments and citizens, such as reconstruction of road system and transition to alternative type of transport.