Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of job required?

Undoubtedly, Internet shopping has become increasing popular these days thanks to its convenience and speed. However, it is argued that this development has greatly influenced the nature and some particular types of jobs. This essay will focus on discussing the extent of these effects.

To begin with, online shopping has both negative and positive effects on the nature. Firstly, on the one hand, as for the adverse impact, it can lead to the overuse of plastic packaging. For instance, when delivering foods, the restaurants or the stalls have to use a great number of single-use products such as plastic bags, plastic boxes or plastic spoons. As a consequence, the non-biodegradable wastes from these throwaway tablewares would remain in thousands of years in nature. However, on the other hand, ordering products through internet can contribute to reducing the amount of exhaust fumes released from vehicles. Compared to the number of drives made by customers themselves, it is more economic that the shippers only take one single route to deliver the products. As a result, the toxic emissions are significantly cut down.

Another effect arising from this issue is the change of employment related to online shopping market. Due to the rapid growth of this trend, many retail jobs are cut down. Therefore, workers have to learn more skills in order to adapt to work online. As a consequence, people who do not have required skills to survive in this circumstance would likely to lose their jobs. However, this can also result in many jobs opportunities for shippers or delivery companies. People can also apply for many jobs such as content creators, photographers or digital marketing staffs in order to promote the products and convince the customers to purchase them.

In conclusion, the spread of online shopping has deeply affected on environment and employment in both positive and negative ways. However, I hold the view that the advantages would outweigh its disadvantages.