The tradition that family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

In this modern era, the custom of families having a meal together is no longer appear. This problem happens due to several reasons and is likely to lead to some effects on society.

To begin with, there are several causes of this trend. First of all, each family member might have different working or studying plans on a day, which can lead to a mismatch among family member's schedules. Consequently, it is extremely hard for every family member to sit down to have a meal together. Furthermore, young people, these days prefer eating out with their friends, colleagues or business partners. Besides, due to the fast-paced of modern cities, people tend to choose fast-food restaurants or food vendors on the streets with a vast array of foods and prices in this day and age. They can grab a meal to be quickly recharged after stressful hours at school or work, which can cause their lack of appetite, and therefore, they will skip meals with their families.

There are various impacts on society and individuals. First of all, people will be much more flexible with their time, which means that they can save a lot of time as they do not have to show up at a fixed hour to have meals with their families. They can eat whatever and whenever they want even during working. Besides, this trend might make the family bond weaken. Mealtimes used to be occasions when family members ate together, discussed each members' problems, and gave advice to each other. Since a family continuously eats separately, the family bond cannot be strengthened and people can feel isolated.

In conclusion, the fact that the custom of families eating meals together is disappearing is caused by several elements, and various effects might be caused by this trend.