Only formal examinations, written or practical, can give a clear picture of a student’s true knowledge and ability at the university level. Continuous assessment like course work and projects are poor measures of student ability. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For many years ago, assessing a student always by usual exam but in our modern society now, reality work and doing projects are more likely to be used. To my viewpoint, each method has its advantages and we should combine harmoniously to see the thing in the whole.

To begin with, formal test is considered as the commonest and easiest way to see the ability of a student. Due to the mark of exam, teacher could understand student's problems, therefore have some adjustments to fill up the blank on the knowledge. In fact, this method is effective when the teacher could cover the class with about 20 students, because the number are too high, the tutor will not be able to take care for all and the quality would decrease. Besides, to prepare for the exam, student ought to practice as much as they could to achieve highest score.

On the other hand, many tutors prefer evaluating a learner by projects and specific works throughout a progress. This may take a long time to judge someone performing well or badly and as my perspective, it is very necessary to exist in our education system. Appraising a student's work should have more time and observations but for test papers. In addition, by getting their hands on various tasks, the learner are more creative and self-motivated, thereby becoming open-minded and mature people.

In conclusion, the functional organ, the teacher should take all two the methods to have more judgements on student's abilities.