The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments

on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some stricter punishments which will deter many drivers from driving dangerously or carelessly on the roads are necessary, but it is not the only way to enhance road safety because there are a lot of effective measures. So, I strongly disagree with the statement.

In my opinion, stricter punishments might have a hugely positive impact on motoring offenders. Firstly, drivers who made a minor mistake during driving their vehicles have to face severe punishments such as heavy fines or driving bans. Secondly, If traffic participants caused serious offenses namely drinking while intoxicated, they will be sent to prison. For example, In the UK, the government has enacted a regulation that receiving prison sentences from 2 to 3 years if you have blood alcohol concentration that exceeds the permitted level.

Additional, having practical measures which reduce dependence on heavy judgment improves traffic road safety. The government should install speed cameras on traffic lights in the cities to make traffic calming. Another beneficial point of this solution is to assist traffic police in overseeing transports. For example, my grandfather was involved in a traffic accident last year, and he did not remember the face of the person who caused the accident. But cameras located nearly accident was filming all the scene and helped polices find the offender.

In conclusion, in order to improve road safety, giving harsher penalties to traffic violators is not enough, a range of road safety measures should accompany those punishments.