Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people claim that not individuals, but the government should be responsible for protecting the environment. While I accept that the authorities do have an important role in reducing environmental pollution, I would argue that every single person still plays a crucial part in preserving the environment.

On the one hand, I agree that the government can be a driving force in fighting against pollution. First, the government could introduce laws to limit emissions from factories, this is because of the gas emissions from factories in many industrial. This measure can offset Co2 emissions and significantly decline air pollution. Furthermore, the authorities have the financial capability to invest in renewable energies from solar, wind and water power to replace fossil fuels. This is because fossil fuel exploitation has depleted ecology with extinction whereas renewable fuels are produced from clean sources and this energy do not affect the environment. As a result, that helps people preserve ecosystems.

However, I would argue that although the authorities can be necessary, individuals can also make a tremendous contribution to protecting and keeping the environment clean. Firstly, people should plant trees around their house. The plants will release oxygen and absorb carbon dioxide that causes environmental protection. Secondly, individuals can reduce the use of plastic bags and replace them with those made of environment- friendly or recyclable materials. For example, when going shopping, consumers can use cloth bags to contain groceries, likewise, they can also opt to take a piece of cake with paper packing from a bakery.

In conclusion, while I agree that the government is important to some extent in protecting the environment, I believe that citizens are also important elements.