The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that stricter punishments can reduce the number of heart-breaking accidents on the road as drivers will pay attention more to the penalties if they break a law. While I agree with this opinion. I believe that a rigorous penalty is not the only way to improve road safety.

On the one hand, giving drivers harsh penalties will increase their awareness about safety while using their vehicles. it is believed that traffic accident has the most amount of people that came to the other side of the earth; so, governments should apply a range of non-custodial sentences, such as heavy fines and the confiscation of drivers' driving license. The letter of law should be implemented by authority strictly in order to ban offenders from the roads. This will improve road safety as offenders cannot threaten other citizens with their thoughtless actions.

On the other hand, I am convinced that there are many ways to improve the security in road traffic rather than considering punishing drivers strictly as the only option. Firstly, governments should cooperate with local road traffic administration to install speed cameras for catching some speedy criminals which appear to be a dangerous threat for other people. Secondly, there should be some limitations in the speed rate for some specific areas. For example, the limitation of speed rate in the city center should be around 30 kilometers per hour to 40 kilometers per hour and 60 to 70 kilometers on highway-road.

In conclusion, it is necessary to have a severe punishment for dangerous drivers. However, it is not the only way to reduce the number of accidents on road.