The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that increasing the driving age is the best way to raise road safety. This problem has been a controversial topic of debate for a long time. I strongly agree with increasing the minimum legal age for drivers and I will explain both views below.

On the one hand, I believe that the legal age relates to drivers' awareness. Olders drivers have much experience in driving so they can easily solve serious traffic cases. While most youngsters are careless driving when they use traffic transport. Furthermore, young people often pass away from serious consequences of traffic accidents. Besides, it is not justice when young drivers cause accidents but they do not have to be responsible for serious crashes. On top of that, drivers who are not mature enough to drive, have bad driving habits and are more hungry for success, which makes it easy for them to cause accidents.

On the other hand, raising the minimum legal age has some disadvantages so the government should have another method to reduce traffic crimes. The most popular way for younger people to commute is self driving. For illustration, nearly 90% of students in Vietnam use motorbikes in traffic and most of them do not have enough to use transport. To solve this problem, the government should enact more severe punishment to reduce traffic accidents. The driving test should be raised the level of difficulty to prevent people who do not have enough ability to drive from using private vehicles or motorbikes. Thus, infrastructure should be invested for youngsters and decrease the amount of drivers.

In conclusion, raising the driving age to make a safer road is outweighing the other part of the topic. Although it has some drawbacks, it is the best way to decline traffic crimes and accidents.