The only way to improve road safety is to impose severe punishment for driving offences. Do you agree or disagree ?

Whether administering harsh penalties for driving-laws breaking offenders is the sole method in order to enhance traffic security has been a subject of heated debates. While it is undeniable that our society could reap tremendous merits from these strict punishments, I strongly argue that extra efficient measures should be taken into consideration.

On the one hand, severe punishments, such as small fines, license suspension or even lengthy prison sentences which are likely to act as a deterrent to potential traffic-rule violators, are proven to be beneficial in certain aspects. To illustrate, those wrongdoers who were deterred from crossing the red light or committing the same serious offences would become more self-disciplined and alert with their driving habits. As a result, there might be a noticeable decline in daily traffic accidents which may pose a detrimental threat to road safety.

On the other hand, there are several practical regulations deserving a great deal of public concern. Firstly, the government is advisable to launch propagation campaigns about traffic safety education and facilitate driver awareness courses. This can help road users not only be well-equipped with knowledge of rules and driving skills but also entirely comprehend the dangers of aggressive driving. Thus, they will avoid perpetrating these socially-unacceptable wrongdoings. Additionally, the state budget should be properly distributed to the instruction free-of-charge passes of public transport systems that can encourage more residents to commute by buses or trains; thereby eradicating the pressing matter of chaos traffic congestions caused by a large density of vehicles in streets.

In conclusion, while there is no doubt that strict punishments are highly essential, from my perspective, the crucial role of raising awareness of drivers and improving traffic infrastructure should not be overestimated.