The only way to improve road safety is to impose severe punishment for driving offences. Do you agree or disagree ?

It is widely argue that enforcing serious punishment on traffic-violated cases is likely to be the only approach to enhance road safety. Personally, I believe this solution is a feasible and effective one, but there are also other ways to mitigate driving offences.

Were this policy put into practice, many law breaking cases have decrease significantly for this obvious reason. It is appropriate to say that money has always been the top priority to a vast majority. Therefore, by increasing the fine for each law-breaking case, citizens will try their best not to violate the law. As an inevitable consequence, the traffic law will be complied strictly which is inextricably associated with the reduction in traffic crash cases.

However, it is my firm belief that there are also other approaches that can be taken to decrease road jeopardy. The first solution I believe to be vitally effective is to increase road users’ knowledge of rules and solving problems skills. Indeed, despite drivers have passed the driving test and own a license, some inexperienced drivers are incapable of solving unexpected situations which will end up in traffic accidents. Therefore, the government should provision more free safety-driving courses and strict criteria for an individual to have their transportation driven on the road. Another approach that can be taken is to invest money into improving road infrastructure. For example, constructing separate lane for distinct means of transports such as buses, pedestrian, car drivers,… can minimize the risk of traffic crashes. Moreover, in some areas where accident rate is high, the State should consider setting up more traffic lights and signs and in the rush hours, there should be police officers to directly control and manage the road.

In closing, although the implement of imposing severe punishment in pursuit of improving road safety is a great way, the government is advised to re-consider because there are other ways can be taken.