Topic: Machines are replacing humans in the manual workforce. Do you think the positive effects outweigh the negative effects?

With the prosperity of modern society, there are more and more cutting-edge technologies that are applied to every aspect of human life. In fact, thanks to advanced machines, big companies can minimize numerous expenditures as well as improve working efficiency. However, this way may lead to the expansion of substituting for the human workforce. From my perspective, I contend that this trend will bring significant benefits on a large scale considering how they are less error-prone than humans.

One major ground behind the rising of the opinion that robots and other automation may replace a huge amount of the workforce is a fear of being unemployed in the foreseeable future. Due to not being hampered by any physical or mental limits, they are experiencing an ideal condition to rapidly undertake most tasks at a rate absolutely faster than humans. Being acknowledged this advantage, a plethora of corporations started investing a huge budget in arming with state-of-art technology, and robots as a substitute for workers to facilitate productivity. This can be seen in some convenience stores in developed countries where human cashiers have been replaced with self-checkout machines that aid consumers in purchasing their items faster. Consequently, some people consider it as an adverse side effect as it directly threatened job opportunities for incompetent workers.

Nonetheless, computers gaining more intelligence than humans may help reduce mistakes. As computers, today are programmed with algorithms to accomplish particular tasks repetitively, they are likely to make far fewer errors. Therefore, many companies utilize these machines to ensure a steady production of their goods while maintaining quality standards. This is evident with the use of sorting robots in the logistics industry in China. Machines there are tasked with precisely assigning items to their designated parcels and they can do this at a rate of 18,000 per hour with a much lower margin of error in comparison to that of humans. Thus, computers gaining superior intelligence over humans is a positive development as it improves product quality and facilitates business growth.

In conclusion, despite the legitimate concerns related to computers curtailing the need for human workers, I contend that this phenomenon is a positive development since computers are less susceptible to errors generally. Once human beings are aware of the challenges computers pose, they can take action to control the risks presented by such disruptive technologies