The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

The increasing demand for commuting to workplaces, educational institutions or shopping locations of city dwellers is said to be the sole culprit of heavy traffic in urban areas, and thus needs reducing immediately. The following essay will challenge this school of thought as I believe that there are other more effective ways to curb the problem.

Admittedly, residents' travel in cities due to different purposes, whether it is business, education or shopping-related, can indeed be attributable to urban traffic issues. This is probably because these travel are too frequently-made, and people tend to use their personal vehicles when commuting, leading to the large amount of means of transport down the roads, especially in the rush hours. Take, for example, the Vietnamese's current traffic situation. They more often than not face traffic congestions before or after school and working hours owing to people's preference over private means of transport. This, coupled with the unavoidable working and studying travelling scheme, results in extremely horrible traffic issues, even in major cities over the country. Additionally, before special occasions such as Christmas and Halloween in Western countries or Tet in Eastern ones, road-users may increase significantly since people may want to make purchases prior to these festivities. Therefore, it is understandable why the reduction in people's demand for commuting seems needed to tackle such problem.

However, my glance would be that detering people from travelling may not be the only remedy to decrease the quantity of traffic in metropolis. More viable methods will be including improving subpar roads and making people cognizant of public transport's benefits. As for the former method, there are still countless narrow roads and potholes in some streets which can cause gridlocks since drivers would be force to drive significantly more slowly; therefore, upgrading and expanding roads would definitely help to alleviate traffic problems. The government and local authorities can also propagandize about the environmental and economical benefits of public transport by putting this piece of information on social media and TV commercials to promote resident's usage. These two methods can together significantly curb traffic issues, and would even render the previous method unsound.

In conclusion, although decreasing people's need for travel of various reasons may sound justifiable to a certain extent, I would argue that the other aforementioned remedies can outperform the previous one.