The best way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Incessant traffic jams and other traffic-related problems have heightened public interest in the topic of how to curb traffic volume. Although some people believe that reducing the need for daily commuting is the best way to do this, my stance is that facilitating public transport is a better solution.

Firstly, reducing the need for people to travel to work, study or shopping purposes would be unworkable. No matter how effectively modern technologies allow us to work, study or carry out online transactions, most of us still prefer face-to-face interactions, perpetuating the need to travel. This can be seen in the way that business people choose to meet up halfway at a cafe, how students prefer to discuss an idea or a lesson at their school campus, or how we enjoy going to shopping malls. Without society still putting a large amount of significance on real-life conversations and interactions, the proposed scheme would not work.

Facilitating public transport appears to be a superior alternative solution. Since means of transport that are not road-based, such as sky trains or subways, are largely underdeveloped in most cities, developing these could help people commute without causing congestion, easing pressure on roads. By developing these, Japan has managed to reduce the amount of traffic significantly, resulting in fewer vehicles on roads. Granted, one might argue that adopting such a method could be expensive, but government subsidies would lower the prices of tickets, which will incentivize people to use public transport and subsequently reduce congestion.

In conclusion, it is futile trying to stop the need for people’s daily commuting, and a better remedy that could be adopted would be to develop public transit systems in order to alleviate traffic.