Open plan office has no walls no barriers.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The design of the open plan office – a joint work station with no physical obstacles - is popularly implemented these days. Despite a range of its advantages, I strongly believe that they cannot compensate for its drawbacks.

On the one hand, open space offices are selection by employers as it is a medium for boosting workers’ interaction. To begin with, direct communication among personnel members is likely to be far easier in the setting with no visual hindrances. Daily work information could be promptly exchanged during office time, facilitating the flow of work effectiveness. Colleagues can now converse with and consult others without having to knock on doors or planning formal meetings as they used to. As a results, business discussions are more frequent and casual than those in a confined space. Besides, partnership could be lifted thanks to intermingling. The more continually co-workers interact with one another, the more camaraderie would be reinforced, which tightens collaboration. Everyone in the office may have a heightened awareness of mutual support for the sake of their company. For these two advantages, it might be sensible to install the open plan offices.

That said, the undivided work space has more downsides than anticipated. For a start, since employees converse with a high frequency, various distractions are inevitable. Such interruptions may vary from clicking sounds on computers to dialog noises, badly affecting workers’ powers of concentration and business efficiency. Bombarded with everyday interference, the workers would probably devise many ways of maintaining focus: wearing over-ear headphones, placing a ‘busy’ sign on desktops, or leaving for a more secluded site. These coping methods may over time make the employees increasingly wary about their peers’ approach for fear that their attention could be upset. The next issue rather transparent is invasion of privacy. Whether workers like it or not, they have to bear many forms of intrusion due to the non-barrier station. Computer screen are plainly visible and phone calls are likely to be overheard. In the worst case, the employees may get harassment or other misconduct actions in the workplace, which would create not only tension but also anxiety and distress. Thus, the design of the workstation without any tangible walls might be a good option, yet it has underlying minus points.

In conclusion, the open plan office seems active in the working environment, it needs to be taken into account because of the dominant negative elements.