Organized tour to remote community and other countries is increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and environment?

Organizing travellers to rural areas and other regions has become popular these days. I personally think that it is a positive movement to the economic development of local people as well as their surroundings.

Tourism can benefit local’s revenue. Locals can receive annual income from tickets to the places of interest purchased by tourist. Travellers, indeed, tend to give extra payment to the local people in purpose of appreciating their products such as local crafts and native cuisines. Likewise, this condition can help to re-build the environment, for a lot of travellers went to remote areas with campaigning green world society. In Indonesia, for example, a lot of tourists visiting Papua, one of the most remote areas in the region, eventually rise the living standard of locals and re-planting a bunch of trees to build healthier environment. The more tourist visiting remote areas, the better the local income and environment are.

Nevertheless, some individuals argue that travellers will only give destructive impacts on rural areas. Furthermore, they said that vast majority of tourists are selfish and tend to discredit the local's culture. For instance, tourists usually act rude to local ceremonies. These people ilustarte the condition of what was happened in Papua New Guinie when tourists intentionally disturb local ceremonies by taking photographs, which is not allowed according to local’s rules there.

Sadly, the disagrement of allocating tours to rural areas is only based on false information. Some information refering to negative impact on tourists visiting rural places is manipulated by politician who put this given circumtance as their materials for political campaign.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is important to organize in remote areas to escalate local’s living standard as well as re-build healthier environment.