Organized tours to remote communities and other countries are increasingly popular.

Is it a positive or negative

development for the local people and environment?

There has been a trend in which visitors are arranged and guided to remote areas or foreign countries as they pay for their trips. Despite certain drawbacks, I hold a notion that travelling to distant places or other nation would be bring more benefits, especially to the people in the community and the environment.

For a variety of reasons, several advantages can be considered when there is an increasing number of people travelling to underdeveloped areas and other countries. To begin with, it is obvious that when people visit a destination, they will need to be fed and watered as well as to be sheltered. This means that there will be employment opportunities for the locals if they offer various services, such as accommodations, to visitors. In addition to this, once the number of tourists to a place grows, a huge sum of revenue through ticket fares will be collected. If the budgets from tourism are well spent on conserving these places, the local environment will somehow be restored and maintained for tourist purposes.

Apart from the aforementioned upsides, there are also some downsides that are note-worthy. First, numerous groups of visitors can result in disturbance for the minor communities. To explain, for small countries or areas with minor races, if there is an exceeding number of visitors to a place, they might accidentally jeopardise the lifesyle of these local people as some tribal people do not want their life to be publicly exposed. Moreover, not all individuals are aware of the importance of environmental protection. In other words, more tourists may increase the amount of litter to the environment, damaging the local sceneries and cause pollution.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that certain trips to remote places can bring more beneficial influences to the community and environment, though there might still be some downsides of this trend.