Organized tour to remote community and other countries is increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and environment?

Organizing travellers to rural areas and other regions has become popular these days. I personally think that it is a positive movement to the economic development for local people as well as their surrondings.

Tourism can benefit local’s revenue. Locals can receive annual income from tickets to the places of interest purchased by tourist. Travellers, indeed, tend to give extra payment to the local people in purpose of appreciating their products such as local crafts and native cuisines. Likewise, this condition can help to re-built the enviroment since a lot of travellers went to remote areas with campaigning green world society. In indonesia for example, a lot of tourist visiting Papua, one of the most remote areas in the region, eventually rise the living standard of locals and re-planting a bunch of trees to build healthier environment. The more tourist visiting remote areas, the better the local income and environment are.

Nevertheless, some individuals argue that travellers will only give destructive impacts on rural areas. Furthermore, they said that vast majority of tourists are selfish and tend to discredit the local culture. For instance, tourist usually act rude to local ceremonies. These people ilustarte the condition of what was happened in Papua New Guinie, when tourist intentionally disturb local ceremonies by taking photograph which is not allowed according to local’s rules there.

Sadly, the disagrement of this phenomenon is only based on false information. Some information refering to negative impact on tourist visiting rural places is manipulated by politician who put this given circumtance as their materials for political campaign.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is important to have tourist in remote areas to escalate local’s living standard as well as re-built healthier environment, therefore, campaigning this movement is highly recommended for better rural areas development.