Over the last few decades, there has been an increase in international tourism. Some people think that tourism is beneficial for local communities and should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of whether tourism is advantageous has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that global tourism exerts positive influences on local society, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of benefits that can be derived from an increase in tourism. Perhaps the principal advantage is that tourism boosts the economy considering that it attracts investment from governments and global companies. Another benefit is that tourism creates employment opportunities in the building of facilities and the updating of infrastructure. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for tourism, there would be higher unemployment rates in a myriad of well-known cities amongst tourists since most of their economies rely on tourists’ spending. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for several of the arguments in favour of tourism.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that global tourism merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that a multitude of travellers do harm to the local environment. To exemplify, one renowned natural habitat in South Korea had a multitude of bird species. However, nearly 70% of them are extinct and it turns out that a great deal of waste produced by tourists is the main reason of this phenomenon. In addition, the majority of European countries’ economies revolve around the tertiary industry, which causes some inhabitants who worked in the field of the primary industry sector to have difficulty in adapting to changes resulting from the rising number of tourists. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.