Over the last few decades, there has been an increase in international tourism. Some people think that tourism is beneficial for local communities and should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of global tourism has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that the development of tourism benefits local communities a great deal and should not be discouraged, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that a there are a number of advantages that can be derived from a rise in the tourism industry. Perhaps the principal benefit is that the advancement of the tourism industry invigorates economic growth considering that it attracts investment from governments across the globe and global firms. Furthermore, tourism sectors often create a multitude of employment opportunities in the building of facilities as well as the updating of infrastructure, leading locals to have an improved standard of living. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for international tourism, there would be much higher unemployment in a myriad of cities that are renowned amongst overseas visitors. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for several of the arguments in favour of tourism.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that tourism merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that a growth in global tourism poses a threat to the local environment since a myriad of overseas visitors produce a vast deal of waste, exerting a detrimental influence on the quality of local residents' life. As an illustration, one notable cultural heritage site in South Korea had more than 500 species of birds in 2010. However, the majority of them became extinct due to a huge amount of garbage generated by tourists. In addition, some travellers from overseas countries commit vandalism, which places a heavy burden on local governments as they have to spend public money in order to restore facilities. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.