Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the effect of social media has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that individual people as well as society are affected by social networking services in a negative way, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from developments in social networking sites. Perhaps the principal benefit is the advent of these sites has revolutionised the way people communicate with each other regardless of time and place considering that having access to the Internet is only needed. To be more specific, users are able to send messages to their relatives and friends with greater ease anywhere and at any time. Furthermore, people can share interests with their acquaintances on social media, which makes it possible for them to build a strong relationship with each other.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the advancement of social networking sites merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that adolescents who generally have difficulty distinguishing right from wrong are more likely to be exposed to offences because criminals are able to target them with greater ease by creating fake profiles. This can even lead to an increase in the number of abductions, exerting a detrimental influence on society. In addition, users who lack self-control become easily addicted to the Internet, meaning that excessive usage of social media often causes harm to work or academic performance as it prevents employees and students from concentrating on their work or studies. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.