Overfishing is a serious global problem that threatens ocean wildlife and biodiversity. Loss of marine life brings a further threat to the millions of people who rely on seafood for protein and livelihoods.

Overfishing is a serious global problem that poses a threat to marine species and biodiversity. The deficiency of ocean wildlife also brings a further threat to numerous individuals who rely on seafood for protein and nutrients. There are several reasons behind this phenomenon, including the rising consumption of fish and the illegal fish-catching situation. In this essay, I will clarify these aforementioned issues, along with several solutions to handle this problem.

To begin with, the upsurge in global population has been leading to the rising consumption of fish is one of the main reasons for the problem. Indeed, in recent years, while environmental contamination has become gradually prevalent, people tend to pay attention to their health more by probably choosing foods such as aquatic foods which contain rich nutrients and proteins. This is leading to the likelihood of mounting demands of consuming seafood that reinforce the fact of catching more fish to satisfy these demands. What’s more, illegal and unregulated fish catching is also regarded as a main cause of this hassle. Catching fish without abiding by governmental and international regulations, for example in protected zones, or not reporting part of the catches.

Therefore, several solutions can be adopted to overcome this challenge. One of the most imperative steps is the implementation of sustainable fishing practices. The fishermen should attempt to not only control the number of fish caught but also maintain the ecological balance of marine life. Furthermore, the government is also making a contribution to preclude overfishing by imposing regulations and implementing political backgrounds to promote sustainable fishing practices. Besides the endeavors of fishermen and government, local inhabitants also play an important role in protecting oceanic creatures. They can choose food alternatives that contain numerous proteins as fish meat, for example, plant-based meat, to eliminate the pressure on fish stocks and promote sustainable fish production in the long term.

In conclusion, the overfishing of the world’s oceans become a major threat to the survival of aquatic creatures, and it also poses a potential danger to the livelihoods of people. Several adverse consequences are driven by this phenomenon, nevertheless, the responsible involvement of fishermen, the government, and fish consumers will contribute to strengthen the sustainable environment for marine lives.