Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that government and individuals can tackle these problems.

Nowadays, there are more and more people migrating to the big cities in the hope of finding a better life. This exodus of citizens has created various negative impacts on society. This essay will discuss the consequences which are caused by overpopulation in metropolises and put forward several solutions for this issue.

Overpopulation in cities can decrease citizens’ living standard. Put simply, there is a lack of social welfare due to over demanding and the government cannot provide enough for everyone in a short period of time. For example, overcrowded schools cannot pay attention to individual students better than a good number of student class. People do not receive decent health care in hospitals because the number of patients outweighs the number of staff. In sum, when the speed of migrants to the big cities is not compatible with the speed of development, citizens cannot maintain their quality of life.

The secondary major effect of overpopulation in urban areas is damaging the environment. There is a significant increase of the number of households in cities due to the migration. This means that the amount of waste disposal to the environment, especially to the water and the soil relatively expands. Traffic congestion also contributes to air pollution as there are more vehicles on the roads. The overdevelopment of cosmopolitan has put huge negative impacts on our nature.

There are several measures that government and individuals can take to tackle the issue. Firstly, industrial zones should be expanded to the outside of the cities to attract workers. Secondly, infrastructure and public transportation which help to connect satellite cities to the big cities should also be improved. Thirdly, each individual can contribute by finding their jobs in their hometowns.

This essay discussed the problems of overcrowded cities and suggested some actions to help to balance out the issue.