Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems.

What are the problems? What should governments and individuals do to tackle these

problems?

The accelerating growth of the human population in metropolitan areas is now being one of the most burning issues that need addressing promptly. This essay will discuss the adverse effects of overpopulation and the measures that governments and individuals can take to solve these problems.

Firstly, overpopulation leads to land and air degradation. As the human population keeps increasing, the land conversion process occurs and translates agricultural land into industrial areas and housings. As a consequence, this situation causes a gradual decline in soil quality. Furthermore, rising in population also means an increase in emission levels. Harmful gases from vehicles in combination with the carbon footprint generated from the manufacturing process lower the air quality and pose a considerable risk to human health. Secondly, excessive population growth in urban areas could also result in an escalation of poverty due to the depletion of natural resources, which might eventually cause difficulties in catering to the ever-growing needs of the nation.

However, it can never be denied that there are indeed feasible measures that the government and individuals can take to curb these problems. First and foremost, the government can pass a bill that encourages citizens to move to rural areas in order to relieve the pressure on the cities. Commuting belts and satellite towns could be built, providing the residents with modern infrastructure and easy access to transportation. In addition, individuals should also make effective use of birth control methods, therefore slowing down the proliferation of the population.

In conclusion, overpopulation has now affected human beings environmentally and socially, and both national governments and individuals should make efforts to address these concerns.