Parents should set punishments in some ways if their children break

the law. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, many parents tend to apply penalties for their children who do not follow the law. From my perspective, I partly concur with this issue.

On the one hand, I suppose that punishing children somehow benefits children’s development. The first reason is that parents’ discipline enables children to realize their mistakes. It is because children might have to reconsider the reasons why they are punished; hence, they are likely to draw many precious lessons for their experience in the future. Another reason is that children are taught to be responsible for their own faults when they receive parents’ penalties. For instance, Vietnamese parents mostly tend to get their children to suffer from their mistakes independently as a punishment. This allows their children to recognize the serious consequences they made and they have to find the solutions to correct their mistakes. As a result, this can be an effective way to remind them not to relapse their faults again.

On the other hand, I believe that some serious penalties cause an obsession with children’s development. A majority of parents currently decide to beat to deter their children; however, this way is believed to be no longer effective but also cause some mental effects on their children such as depression. Furthermore, this serious disclination can be imitated by the later generations, which is not appropriate in the modern days.

To conclude, from my opinion, proper punishment can be really efficient to educate children who do not follow the regulation; however, forms of discipline should be developed to be more practical to suit the new era.