Ensuring that children have regular physical exercise should be the responsibility of parents and therefore students should not waste valuable school time having sports lessons as part of the curriculum. To what extent do you agree?

Children need to be physically active and fit to ensure that their biological growth is normal at all times and the onus of this should lie with their parents and not with schools. These educational institutions should not waste valuable time having sports lessons as a part of the curriculum. I completely disagree with this idea and I will explain why.

There are various reasons to prove the importance of having physical training lessons as part of the curriculum. Firstly, schools should provide sports coaching as part of the syllabus because it will imbibe a competitive attitude in students not only for sports but also for other subjects. Besides, it will help them learn team management skills at a young age and it will be advantageous for them in the long run. For instance, sports day in schools creates huge excitement among pupils because they compete with one another and prove their courage. Secondly, the result of any physical workout can be more productive when that workout is conducted with peers of the same age group. This is because children normally like to participate in physical activities in groups rather than performing any of such activities alone. For example, while running, children who participate, tend to find more motivation to run faster, when they are competing with their school friends of the same age group. Therefore, school is the best place to conduct exercises for children as it can get more participants of the same age group to perform any physical activity.

However, I do appreciate that some people think differently, say the physical fitness of children is a sole responsibility of parents. In fact, juveniles can be supervised by their parents in a facile manner unlike at schools where it is not possible to provide individual attention to each student. For example, if a child is interested in any type of sports such as cricket, parents play a crucial role in encouraging their child and ensuring that his interest is pursued. As a result, children will feel motivated to follow their passion and be physically fit.

In conclusion, although it is undeniable parents are responsible for their children’s physical development, I believe that school is the best place for youngsters to find more motivation to complete physical tasks for the reasons mentioned