In the past important knowledge of culture and history was stored in museum Nowadays information is freely available on internet therefore is no longer need for museum To what extent do you agree or disagree

Museums have been around for centuries, preserving for the generations to come precious information about life in the past. Despite the crucial role these structures play in our society, concerns have recently risen about their utility. In the light of the technological development, some claim that the Internet has basically superseded museums, making them obsolete and useless. Nothing could be more wrong than this statement and this essay will focus on the reasons why museums represent still these day an instrumental tool to preserve memories and educate citizens.

Probably one of the major breakthrough in the history of mankind, the Internet is an incredible source of information: from every corner of the country users can quickly access an infinite database of videos, pictures, tales, stories, and movies. For the first time in their history, humans can access rapidly and for free the whole knowledge collected over the centuries. So why should one waste time and money to visit a boring and lifeless museum at the outskirt of the city? Well, the answer is not easy but let us try to define what a museum does.

A museum is nothing more than a building that stores tangible and intangible heritage of humanity and it is open to the public. So far so good, but the definition itself is not really informative. So why are museums still important? Museums are places where people can learn from the past and educate themselves to avoid to repeat the same errors. Museums are open to all citizens no matter if they are poor or well-off, no matter if they are blind or too old to to use a computer. In most cases, museums offer free entrance for seniors, who can this way enjoy famous painters or admire ancient sculptures. As we can see, museums also have a social role no computer can outdo, since they keep community alive and ease human interactions.

In conclusion, we desperately need museums. On one hand, they are a safe place to conserve our past, traditions, and cultural heritage. On the other one, they are deeply rooted in our society and also in our modern time have an essential role in propagating arts, science, and culture among citizens.