In the past, important knowledge of culture and history was stored in museum. Nowadays information is freely available on internet, therefore is no longer need for museum.

To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

We have witnessed the decreasing popularity of museums. It is argued that museums are no longer needed by the public. In my perspective, I tend to disagree with this statement and will elaborate below.

Understandably, the rapid advancement of technology and internet allows people obtain information easily. By simply typing keywords in Google or online databases at home, individuals can access to the information they needed such as the historical information and the historical events within a very short time. Consequently, going to museums for those materials is definitely waste of time and energy.

However, there are opposing voices. To start with, museums are still good places for local citizens and travellers to enhance knowledge. Museums are the places where experts preserved the country heritages. By paying visit to museums with family during holidays, young people are able to see the country histories and have more understanding on their country. Moreover, travellers learn more about the cultural of the country and show respect.

Apart from this, local residents are given more choices on leisure activities. It is not uncommon to see that the parks of the public and beaches overcrowded in Australia because people want to meet their friends and need to relax their mind and body during holidays. Visiting museums and appreciating the traditional paintings therefore are an alternative for these visitors.

In conclusion, although important knowledge of culture and history information is freely available on internet, I think that museums are still good places to educate the local residents and even the foreign travellers.