In the past, knowledge was contained in books. Nowadays, knowledge is uploaded to the internet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, the internet is overtaking books as a place to store knowledge. This brings more merits as reducing the use of papers and making it easier to access, surpassing the drawbacks.

Many argue that putting knowledge on the internet lowers the paper’s usage, reducing the number of trees abolished in the forest. Although it lowers forest logging considerably, knowledge on the internet is prone to plagiarism, disrespecting the author. However, this can be tackled by robust law enforcement regarding plagiarism. For instance, ever since the emergence of online journals in the past decades, most American researchers have not been required to print out their studies before presenting them in a forum. This impacts the declination of paper’s demand by almost half compared to the prior situation, which required printed copies of the journals, resulting in fewer trees being cut by almost a third.

Furthermore, it is more accessible for people to consume knowledge if uploaded on the internet than stored in books, allowing people to study more. Although it is easy for most people to access the internet, electricity is still the primary problem in some places, preventing people from accessing knowledge on the internet. However, this has been solved by the government prioritising building an infrastructure. For example, the number of psychology journals in most Indonesian universities has skyrocketed in the past decade. Many researchers acknowledged that this could be achieved by access to references through the internet, which allows them to finish their research twice faster than studying from books.

To conclude, limiting the paper’s usage and making it more accessible are the main plus points of putting knowledge on the internet compared to books. If possible, programs regarding this movement need to be sustained.