Some people say it is more important to plant trees in the open spaces in towns and cities than to build more housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Planting trees in urban areas is more crucial than establishing more accommodation. It is agreed as helping to decrease the amount of CO2 and providing people with a place to relax.

Reducing the CO2 is one primary reason why growing trees is more essential than building houses, preventing the climate crisis from worsening. More specifically, trees absorb CO2 and produce O2 which later on would outweigh the amount of CO2 in the air. Hence, the lesser CO2 travels in the air, the less likely the temperature increase. For instance, after creating Central Park, an urban park consisting of more than 100 trees in New York City, the temperature dropped by almost 1 degree Celcius in 1980. This is because more O2 were produced and slowly surpassed the amount of CO2 in New York City. Thus, planting trees helps to slow the process of climate change.

Another reason is that adding more trees than housing in urban areas could be a place for people to relax since the O2 produced by trees calms human’s mind. This lowered the number of people developing mental health issues. For example, in 2014, the Ex-Bandung Mayor built more than 10 parks, containing more than 100 trees. Two years later Bandung was awarded as one of the happiest cities in Indonesia referring to an index. The survey stated that parks constructed by the mayor play a huge role in maintaining the positive emotion of all its citizens. Therefore, planting trees could be a safe space for people to empty their minds.

To conclude, the drop in CO2 and the emergence of relaxing places are the two main reasons why it is more crucial to plant trees than build housing in metropolitan areas. If possible, the proportion of green open space should be wider than the proportion of buildings.