In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays people store knowledge on the internet. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is no doubt that the internet become more and more important in human lives, especially it would be the main tool and communication that people can not live without them. And a good deal of essential information, including secret intimate and humans’ knowledge all storage on the Internet. In my point of view, it can bring some drawbacks for the user, but the long term benefit can outstanding these unfavorable.

To begin with, back to the past, the book has been regarded as a huge storehouse of wisdom and there is nothing that can beat it. Return to now, with the improvement of the Internet, most of the things we need can be found in this social networking, and it is far better than those traditional books which are limited in length. This is the reason why there are fewer people read books as in the past because they had the internet take its place. For instance, if you go by car, during the time you wait at the work place, you can surf the internet to take advantage of learning more knowledge or prepare something important carefully, much more convenient because you do not always remember to bring books with you.

However, the more advanced technology is, the more expensive people have to pay. Initially, the blue light of the computer and phone screens you use will damage your eyes, and over a long period, it will cause fatigue, headaches, and vision loss. Particularly, according to a report from Beijing University, up to 40%, more children are nearsighted in this country compared to the same time last year since having to study online during the Covid-19 epidemic. The knowledge on the internet is countless, but there is also false and unverified information, so it should be carefully selected before referencing.

To sum up, though online knowledge can bring some negatives, I believe the pros outweighs the cons.